Flesquières Ridge Cemetery: Whereas other infantry divisions which took part in the initial assault followed the tanks closely with the lead troops deployed in open file behind the machines, General Harper of the 51st Highland Division placed little faith in the tanks, deploying his men in successive waves with a great distance between the tanks and the infantry. This left the tanks vulnerable to a concentration of German artillery around Flesquieres and the attack stalled at great cost in both tanks and infantry. The action which took place around the village gave rise to the legend of the "Gunner of Flesquieres" responsible for knocking out 16 tanks single-handed. In reality the Germans had appreciated the significance of this position and had concentrated guns behind the ridge.
German & British Headstones at Orival Wood: In 1917 the Orival Wood provided cover for German artillery behind Flesquières Ridge. The wood prevented the RFC from spotting their presence in the area with fatal consequences for the tanks as they came over the top of Flesquières Ridge. Orival Wood Cemetery now occupies this site.
Good Old Man Farm: The farm was a German strongpoint during the battle and its remains can still be seen today. It was near this spot that Lieutenant Richard Wain, in Tank A2 won the Tank Corps’ first VC.
Canal du Nord: The Canal du Nord was still under construction in 1917 and the section of canal bordering the left flank of the 62nd Division was dry with steep brick-lined sides. The canal marked the western perimeter of the main battle area although the 36th Ulster division were engaged in fighting on the west bank of the canal.
Havrincourt: The Havrincourt-Flesquieres Ridge was one of the more significant topographical features of the Cambrai battlefield. The chateau at Havrincourt had been a German HQ visited on occasion by the Kaiser himself but by 1917 the village and the chateau were in ruins. On the morning of the attack this was one of the few places where the Germans put up some resistance delaying the 62nd Division's advance towards Bourlon Wood for some time. The 62nd Divisional Memorial is on the edge of the wood.
Masnières Bridge over the St Quentin Canal: The right flank of the assault was marked by the St Quentin Canal. The crossings at Marcoing and Masnières were captured by the 20th Light Division. Whilst the canal bridge at Masnières was initially still standing an attempt to cross it by one of the tanks - Flying Fox - led to its collapse taking the tank with it and causing some delay to the British advance. The modern bridge across the canal is within a few yards or the original one.
Anneux Cemetery: During 20th November, tanks supported by the 62nd Division advanced over four miles to reach Anneux. At this point the tanks were withdrawn being at the end of their operational effectiveness. Anneux British Cemetery contains casualties from the battle as well as from later fighting in September, 1918. It is an excellent location at which to consider the fighting around Bourlon Wood.
Bourlon Wood (View from Anneux Cemetery): Although the British had made great advances on 20th November they did not break through completely and the wooded high ground of Bourlon Ridge was still in German hands. For these reasons and believing that the Germans were on the point of collapse, a renewed attempt on 23rd November saw tanks break into the village of Fontaine Notre Dame. Poor co-ordination with the infantry and a reinforced enemy trained in anti-tank methods led to their repulse. Lack of reserves now began to have an effect on the British plan.
Louverval Military Cemetery & Cambrai Memorial to the Missing: The Cambrai Memorial to the Missing stands on a terrace at one end of Louverval Military Cemetery. The Memorial commemorates more than 7,000 servicemen who died in the Battle of Cambrai and who have no known grave. The cemetery contains 124 burials.
Maissemy German Cemetery: There are 23,278 German casualties buried in this cemetery. 8,000 of these are buried in a central mass grave. Maissemy was near to the start line for the Ludendorff Offensive in March, 1918. The headstones reveal the extent of the failure of the “Kaiserschlacht”. There are graves dating from 1917 and early 1918 before the Offensive & more graves from September 1918 when they found themselves back where they had started
Riqueval Bridge: The bridge was captured intact during the assault. The Germans attempted to blow it up but were prevented from doing so by Captain Charlton of the 5th South Staffords, who together with a party of Engineers, rushed the machine-gun post covering the bridge before racing to beat a group of Germans to the fuses. The bridge carried the old Roman road, which the British called Watling Street, across the canal.
The St Quentin Canal (near Riqueval): By September 1918, the Germans had been pushed back to their old positions on the Hindenburg Line. The British now planned to storm the St Quentin Canal between Bellicourt & Bellenglise. The canal presented a formidable obstacle. Near Riqueval it was 35 feet wide & its brick-lined sides were very steep. The canal bank was lined with machine-gun posts. Near Bellicourt the canal passed through a tunnel used to shelter troops who could emerge right into the Hindenburg defences.